Losing hours to Dragon Age: Inquisition

Article

Over 150 hours, that’s how much time I spent running around the massive world of thedas. I would’ve kept running but the credits started to roll. Having spent as much time as I did on this game I think it’s safe to say that I loved it, from the insanely deep conversation and dialog to the equipment and armor modifications this game is big, and I haven’t even mentioned the map. By the time I finished Dragon Age: Inquisition I had stopped a civil war, decided an Orlesian throne dispute and killed 5 dragons (those last five have it coming) and to top it all off I stopped an ancient crazy person from taking over the world as a new god, and those are just the bullet points of the dragon age universe I fell into.

The first game console I bought with my own money was the PS3, choosing the console was one story but I had an even harder time choosing just one game, I wasn’t going to have any money for months so I had to make it count. As much as I wanted to play Uncharted, Resistance, Call of Duty, I knew none of those games would last as long as Dragon Age: Origin, and I made the right choice, that game became everything to me, I played it for entire weekends sometimes, from rescuing the circle mages to crowning a king for Orzammar, I fell into that world and I wasn’t coming out. The game itself has plenty of issues, from awful looking visuals to static and dull combat it’s not always pretty, but the thing I loved most about the game was its story telling and the voice acting. Listening to Morrigan Insult Alistair as we wondered around the deep roads became like listening to friends argue about where we should go to eat.

It’s easy to say that Dragon Age: Inquisition has been my most anticipated game of the past three years, ever since the credits rolled on Dragon Age 2. And I have no doubt in my mind when I say that it’s exceeded my expectations, and that never happens. All that build up to something this good could not have been expected. Grabbing the controller the moment I got home was a sudden realization that they improved so much about the series that I wasn’t expecting, from modified weapons, to massive maps and terrains all throughout the fictional world of Thedas. The Dragon Age series has been a pillar for my life the same way The Batman the animated series was for me as a child, this franchise will be something I never forget and I can’t wait to see what this Bioware studio does next.

4 thoughts on “Losing hours to Dragon Age: Inquisition

  1. I feel the same way. Except DA:2 felt like moving on to a weaker nostalgia pillar. Made of bubble gum and Twizzlers, and good lord I missed Morrigan and Alistair.

    Very fair recap. Hat’s off to you, sir.

    1. It does feel a bit oddly paced at first, but it picks up in a big way once you make your first major decision which is maybe 4 to 8 hours in depending on your style of play

Leave a Reply

